Mabel Swainson Pianoforte Award

Syllabus ID: 9.11

Competition: Age limit: 17 to 28 years. Prize includes a recital in the Kevin Barry Room at the National Concert Hall and at Clandeboye Festival 2017 (subject to the winner's availability). Also, the winner will receive a perpetual cup tenable for one year.

Test Pieces 2017

Competitors to perform a programme of works lasting not less than 20 minutes and no longer than 25 minutes. Selected repertoire must represent at least two of the following categories: baroque, classical, romantic (including late romantic), European impressionist, contemporary.
Attention is drawn to Rule 23 of the Regulations of the Feis Ceoil.

The winner will be required to submit the programme for their public recital for approval by 1st June 2017. A varied programme is recommended for this recital, which should include a substantial work, or set of pieces comprising one opus number, and one piece of contemporary music written by an Irish composer since 1st January 1980.



 NB This award is not eligible as a qualifying competition for the Morris Grant Bursary.

NB:  Please note changes made to this competition for 2017


Entrance Fees: €60.00

Date: 02 April 2017

Time: 6.30pm

Venue: RDS Concert Hall

Adjudicator: Anton Voigt

1st Prize: Perpetual cup, €500 and recital

2nd Prize: Betty Clarke Medal, presented by the late Mrs. Betty Clarke

Entries to Feis Ceoil 2017 are now closed.

Feis Ceoil 2017